# Viditor vs ClipsPal

Canonical URL: https://viditor.app/compare/clipspal
Last updated: 2026-10-13

> TL;DR: Both are Apple Silicon Mac editors that run on the AI plan you already pay for. Pick ClipsPal for multi-take talking heads, a one-time price, a free local model, longer edits, or shorts and articles from one video. Pick Viditor if you want an AI that checks frames, motion graphics, layers and keyframes, music, and a check on every export.

## ClipsPal at a glance

- Product: [ClipsPal](https://clipspal.com)
- Category: AI talking-head video editor for Mac
- Pricing: $49 one-time lifetime licence for 2 Macs; the price steps up as licences sell (next step $99, capped at $199) (checked October 8, 2026)

ClipsPal and Viditor are the closest thing each other has to a twin. Both are Apple Silicon Mac editors, both keep your footage local, and both run their AI on the Claude or ChatGPT plan you already pay for instead of selling you credits. They differ in what the AI can see, how much it builds, and how you pay.

## What's the difference between Viditor and ClipsPal?

The main difference is what the AI works from. ClipsPal says plainly that [only the transcript goes to the AI](https://clipspal.com/pricing) you picked. Viditor's assistant reads the transcript too, then looks at the frames it changed, checking faces, caption placement, frozen shots and loudness before it hands the edit back.

The second difference is scope. ClipsPal is built for talking-head videos recorded in several takes: it removes bad takes and silences, then adds zoom-ins, subtitles, visuals and sound effects, and can turn the result into shorts and an article. Viditor adds editable motion graphics, layers with keyframes, music, and an export review that checks loudness, peaks, black or frozen frames and silences. Viditor doesn't schedule or post: you upload the export yourself.

The third is how you pay and which AI you can use. ClipsPal sells a one-time licence and supports Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode or a free local model. Viditor also sells a one-time licence, capped at $99, and supports Claude Code or Codex.

## How do Viditor and ClipsPal compare feature by feature?

| | Viditor | ClipsPal |
|---|---|---|
| Platform | Mac only: Apple Silicon, macOS 14+ | Mac only: Apple Silicon, macOS 14+ |
| How you edit | Chat, plus a layered timeline you edit by hand | Automatic edit, then a timeline you drag and trim, or ask the Director |
| What the AI looks at | Transcript excerpts and the frames it checks | Transcript only |
| AI it runs on | Claude Code (Claude Pro or Max) or Codex (ChatGPT plan) | Claude Code, Codex, OpenCode with any provider, or a free local model |
| Captions | Word-by-word, styled presets | Subtitles, one word or sentence at a time |
| Silence and filler removal | Yes, pauses confirmed in the audio | Yes, plus bad-take removal |
| Motion graphics | Motion scenes anchored to spoken words: lower thirds, titles, counters, charts, annotations | Zoom-ins and overlay visuals; titles or lower thirds not stated on their site |
| Layers and keyframes | Yes, with per-key easing | Not stated on their site |
| Thumbnails | Not built in: Viditor doesn't generate thumbnails | Not stated on their site |
| Music and SFX | Bundled music and sound effects, stock media | Sound effects |
| Scheduling and posting | No, export and post yourself | Not stated on their site |
| Where footage is processed | On your Mac | On your Mac |
| AI cost model | Your existing Claude or ChatGPT plan | Your existing plan or a free local model; nothing billed per video |
| Price | One-time licence for two Macs, $49 to $99 | $49 once, rising as licences sell (up to $199) |
| Max resolution | 1080p at 30 fps | Not stated on their site |
| Timeline length | 5 minutes per timeline | Not stated; their demo cuts a 21:31 recording to 8:52 |
| Transcription languages | English built in, more through a language pack | 40 spoken languages |
| Collaboration and review | Frame-pinned comments with Fix with AI | Not stated on their site |
| Other outputs | MP4 exports, plus post captions and titles written in chat | Shorts and articles from one video |

## When is ClipsPal the better choice?

ClipsPal is the better choice if you want to own the software outright. A $49 one-time licence that covers two Macs and includes future updates is simple, and its local model means you can edit without paying for any AI plan at all.

It's also the better pick if:

- your videos run past five minutes after the cut, which Viditor can't hold
- you record a lot of takes and mainly need them trimmed, zoomed and subtitled
- you want a short and a written article out of every long recording
- you already use OpenCode or another provider instead of Claude or ChatGPT

## When is Viditor the better choice?

Viditor is the better choice when the video needs to look designed, not just tightened. Launch videos, product demos and explainers need titles, lower thirds, counters, charts and highlights that land on the right word. Viditor's assistant builds those as [motion graphics](https://viditor.app/features/motion-graphics) you can edit, on a timeline with [layers and keyframes](https://viditor.app/features/layers-and-keyframes).

It also fits better if:

- you want the AI to check what the frame actually looks like, not only what was said ([why that matters](https://viditor.app/blog/transcript-based-vs-frame-aware-ai-video-editing))
- you want every export checked for loudness, peaks, black or frozen frames and long silences before you post it ([exporting](https://viditor.app/docs/export))
- you review your own cuts with comments pinned to the frame, then hand them to [Fix with AI](https://viditor.app/features/comments-fix-with-ai)

## How much do Viditor and ClipsPal cost?

ClipsPal costs $49 once for lifetime access on two Macs as of 8 October 2026. Its [pricing page](https://clipspal.com/pricing) says the price rises after the current batch of licences ($99 next, up $50 every 50 licences, to $199). Viditor is also a one-time licence for two Macs: $49 for the first 50, rising $20 every 50 up to $99 ([pricing](https://viditor.app/pricing)).

Both expect you to bring an AI plan. With Viditor that's Claude Pro or Max through Claude Code, or ChatGPT through Codex, and usage counts toward that plan's limits. ClipsPal also lets you skip the plan entirely with its local model.

## How do I switch from ClipsPal to Viditor?

You can run both side by side, since they're separate Mac apps and neither opens the other's projects. Try Viditor on a video that needs graphics, not just cuts.

1. Download and install Viditor, then sign in with your email.
2. Sign in to Claude Code or Codex, the same sign-in ClipsPal may already use.
3. Import your raw takes and ask: "Keep the best take of each line, cut the pauses, add word-by-word captions."
4. Then ask for the graphics: "Put a lower third on my name and a counter when I say the number."
5. Check the frames on the timeline and export.

## Pick ClipsPal if

- You want to run the AI on a free local model, or on OpenCode with any provider.
- You record long talking-head videos in several takes and want them cut down past five minutes.
- You want shorts and a written article from the same recording.

## Honest limits

- Viditor timelines max out at 5 minutes and export at 1080p/30.
- Viditor can't run on a local model; chat needs a Claude or ChatGPT plan.
- Viditor has no client review link.
- Viditor transcribes Hindi in Devanagari, so Hinglish captions need some words fixed by hand.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the difference between Viditor and ClipsPal?

Both are Mac editors that use your Claude or ChatGPT plan. ClipsPal sends only the transcript to the AI and focuses on cutting talking-head takes with zooms, subtitles, visuals and sound effects. Viditor's assistant also checks the frames it edits and adds motion graphics, layers and keyframes, and music.

### Does ClipsPal upload my video?

No. ClipsPal says video, audio and transcription stay on your Mac and only the transcript goes to the AI you picked, or nothing leaves with its local model. Viditor also keeps footage local and sends transcript excerpts plus the frames the AI checks.

### Can Viditor run on a local AI model like ClipsPal?

No. Viditor's chat needs Claude Code with a Claude Pro or Max plan, or Codex with a ChatGPT plan. ClipsPal can also use OpenCode or a free local model it downloads for you.

### How much does ClipsPal cost compared with Viditor?

ClipsPal is a one-time $49 licence for two Macs, rising as licences sell, up to $199. Viditor is also a one-time licence for two Macs: $49 for the first 50, rising $20 every 50 up to $99. Both need an AI plan for chat unless you use ClipsPal's local model.

### Which one is better for Hindi videos?

ClipsPal lists 40 spoken languages including Hindi. Viditor transcribes Hindi through a downloadable language pack, in Devanagari, so Hinglish captions need some words fixed by hand.

## Related

- [Edit video by chatting](https://viditor.app/features/chat-video-editing)
- [Motion graphics without After Effects](https://viditor.app/features/motion-graphics)
- [Layers and keyframes, by hand or by chat](https://viditor.app/features/layers-and-keyframes)
- [Can Claude edit videos?](https://viditor.app/claude-video-editor)
- [Viditor for talking-head videos: you press record, it does the edit](https://viditor.app/for/talking-head-videos)
- [Transcript-based vs frame-aware AI video editing](https://viditor.app/blog/transcript-based-vs-frame-aware-ai-video-editing)

## Sources

- [ClipsPal homepage](https://clipspal.com) (accessed 2026-10-08)
- [ClipsPal pricing and FAQ](https://clipspal.com/pricing) (accessed 2026-10-08)

Download Viditor for Mac (one-time licence, see https://viditor.app/pricing): https://viditor.app/download
